Thursday, August 30, 2012

Facepalm.

You remember me saying that I had sung Jesus, Take the Wheel?

He should have taken ahold of my break.

I woke up early, again, because I did have to go in at normal time. One of my friends, Julie, texts me asking for a ride. Ugh, alright. I pick her up and off we go. Headed for school. Woopee.

We’re in the same traffic, however it wasn’t nearly as bad as the day before. We’re talking, catching up when I notice that the gas is rather low. I take a picture of the gas gauge and begin to text my dad.

“Rose? Um, Rose? ROSE! ROOSEEE!”

Bam.

Break.

Facepalm.

Follow the white car in front of me to the side of the road.

He gets out and I get out.

He looked a lot like one of my friends in the city I lived in before I moved back. Scary alike. I actually had to do a double take. “I don’t see anything, so we’re good?” he says.

“Yeah,” and like that we were back on the road. And I was still behind him. Great.

I stayed as far away as possible. No lie. And vowed then, to quote Taylor Swift, to “never, ever, ever, ever” text and drive again. “Like ever.”

The gas light is now on and thank goodness Julie was laughing at our situation rather than brooding like I was yesterday, otherwise I don’t think she’d ever speak to me again.

We pull into the school and one of my other friends had lent me her spot for the week so I immediately go there. Looking for the number. Looking for the number.

Now granted, I was going to stop even though Julie was yelling, “ROSE STOP!”, the white car, the same white car, backed out and pulled back into their parking spot right in front of me.

Facepalm.

Find the number. Find the number. Ah, there it is. Pull in. Only 3 minutes late, not bad. Go to homeroom, pass by the guy in the car again, facepalm, sit down in homeroom, plan to sit for ages like yesterday, only to be told to go to first period yet again.  Phew, that was a lot of effort.

I find one of my friends and I follow her to the College and Career Center for something or another. By this time, I was about to cry. I confessed to my mom and dad about the whole deal and I felt truly horrible. I never drive that badly. It was a horrid feeling. My mom called and I excused myself to the bathroom, which thankfully was empty. She talked to me about it and calmed me down. Which made me feel better, but still I felt pretty awful. To be honest, I still haven’t looked at the front of the truck.

My dad tells me it’s a good lesson and we made a pact to (quoting Taylor Swift) “never, ever, ever, ever”  text and drive again. “Like ever.” Then I wrote my concerns about the gas. There was no way I could sit 45 minutes with the gas light on and not run out of gas. So I planned that as soon as school ended I was running, no matter how funny I looked, to the truck, to get out of there first and skip all the traffic.

Economics was next on the list of classes so I headed towards the portables where nothing exciting occurred. Nothing exciting happened in the portable either to be quite honest. Other than putting on my heart necklace that I swear I had last seen in my bathroom, but found in my backpack. Weirdly enough from then on, things got better.

Lunch was great.

Choir was great.

Music theory was awesome and I’m really excited for that class.

But when they dismissed the students, I half ran, half walked to the truck. On the way there this girl asked, “Do you know when school lets out? 30 or 35?”

I replied, “Well, its out now.” Then I realized she probably didn’t mean today, “But 35 normally,” I called out to her.

I continued to half run, half walk to the truck, determined to get out of there before any traffic. Only when I had stopped in line to see how much gas I had left did I notice it. The needle pointed to Full. I tapped the gas gauge to check if it was lying. It wasn’t. I wanted to text my dad to ask how he did it and say thank you, but it was going to have to wait. I had learned my lesson that morning. I drove all the way home and got home extra early. I watched Friends, but happily this time. We met my mom to go school shopping that night as well.

It was amazing how horrible my day started, how much I learned without being in class, and how much it got better.

But you know, I’m going to see that kid everywhere around school now, right?

Facepalm.

No comments:

Post a Comment